Broken Trust

Inside my soul, there’s a deep, dark place which I do not like to share,

It’s not often that part of me sees the light of day, I don’t like feeling vulnerable there.

I have shown that portion of myself to very few, but save one they always betray.

I will never understand how people can appear trustworthy only to break that trust for no apparent reason and simply walk away.

 

The true me is made of many parts, a multitude of shades which integrate.

Happy yellows and angry reds, but I keep certain colors in a well guarded place.

The purple bruised feelings from hurts never healed, embarrassing navy blues that were meant to humiliate,

Inside my soul, there’s a deep, dark place which I do nowt like to share.

 

I hide my feelings with a smile on my face, try to act like nothing’s changed,

But the truth is that it has and you are to blame.

You don’t want a friend, you want someone to stroke your ego.  I can’t do that anymore.

It’s not often that part of me sees the light of day, I don’t like feeling vulnerable there.

 

I trusted you with what I normally keep hidden – my raw feelings that have been fed into again and again.

I showed you who I am and I why I am that way.  At first you acted like you cared, I allowed myself to open up and chip away.

I told you things about myself and shared experiences with you that made me feel exposed.  You pushed me away and turned up your nose.

I have shown that portion of myself to very few, but save one they always betray.

 

Little did I know, the whole time we were friends you were sizing me up, my failures and perceived shortcomings helping you to grow into a bigger person in your own mind.

I was vulnerable and did not know that all you wanted was a sounding board and for me to tell you I envied you – but I do not.

You abandoned me when I needed you, and refuse to tell me why.

I will never understand how people can appear trustworthy only to break that trust for no apparent reason and simply walk away.

Leave a Reply

