Bridging the Gap

 

Across from me sits a Muslim woman.

 

I have invited her into my home because she is the mother of my son’s friend.  We need to fill the time while our children play together.

 

I offer her a glass of water and she accepts.

 

She and I sit, and at first the conversation is strained and revolves around small talk

 

 

…but then there is a shift.

 

 

We start to trust one another and open up.

 

 

THIS is where religion and politics and scary media tactics cease and friendship begins.

 

I realize as it is happening that this is the most intellectual conversation I have had in a long time and how much I enjoy talking to her.

 

We are so much alike, despite the huge divide that has been programmed into us that we need to fear the many for the few.

 

I find that as the conversation progresses, though I do not know her well and we have only just met, I will already miss this friendship if it does not continue.

Save

Save

Save

One thought on “Bridging the Gap

Leave a Reply

